Pearl Jam Announce World Tour and New Album Dark Matter, Share New Song: Listen

Pearl Jam has announced a world tour and a new album. Black matterthe band's 12th studio album, arrives April 19 (via Monkeywrench/Republic). The band have shared the title track, which you can listen to below.

The rest of the 2020s Gigaton was written and recorded in three weeks, with the band holed up at Rick Rubin's Shangri-La in Malibu. Andrew Watt, who produced Eddie Vedder's star-studded 2022 album, Earthlingwas asked to produce Black matter. “[Watt] has an encyclopedic knowledge of our history, not only as a band and how we wrote songs, but also as musicians,” said bassist Jeff Ament. “He could identify things we were doing on old songs to the point where I was like, 'What is he talking about?' His enthusiasm was contagious.

“We’re always looking for ways to communicate,” Vedder said of the writing and recording experience. “We're at that point in our lives where you might or might not do it, but we're still keen to come up with something that's meaningful and we hope that's our best work. No hyperbole, I think it's our best work.

The group's world tour stops in nine countries and 25 cities, all spread over six months. It kicks off in Vancouver, British Columbia on May 4 and takes the band across the United States and Europe before wrapping up, for now, in Sydney, Australia on November 21. In between, shows at outdoor baseball stadiums, arena concerts and festival dates at Mad Cool and NOS Alive. Find the full list of tour dates below.

Learn more about Pearl Jam Ten in Pitchfork's list of “The 25 Best Grunge Albums of the '90s”.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you purchase something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Black matter:

01 Fear of fear
02 React, Reply
03 Wreck
04 Dark matter
05 I won't tell
06 The top
07 Waiting for Stevie
08 Running
09 Something special
10 I Have To Give
11 Setting Sun

Source link

Scroll to Top